Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: sed is dead
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sed is dead Post 302525212 by zaxxon on Thursday 26th of May 2011 04:58:48 AM
Old 05-26-2011
Nietzsche said that about god, not sed! Smilie

The variable is enclose by singe quotes so it will never be evaluated by the shell and sowith sed will never find a match - so no change to the file:
Code:
for k in ${MOLARRAY[@]}
do
    sed -i -e '/'${k}'/d' test2
done

This User Gave Thanks to zaxxon For This Post:

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Dead SUN

My SUN V210 refuses to fully boot up. We had a power outage (ie. someone tripped the cord) and thereafter the Sun will not come up, and the OS is not starting. The LED on the front is not lit. Monitor gets no feed, so I plugged in via the management port. The system comes up to: Trap 3e. and... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: ireeneek
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

dead.letter

HI, I am pretty new to Unix...but here is 1 serious problem...atleast for me..:-) now..the dead.letter file in /var/tmp has been growin continuously..n i dont know why..I ve even killed the sendmail process..but the dead.letter file keeps on increasin..Can anyone tell me where do I start... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: unisam
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Jack Kilby dead at 81

If Edison and Ford were the the greatest inventors and influencers of the turn of the 20th century... then surely Jack Kilby was probably the most influential person of the late 21st century and for time immemorial...on our way of life. A legend dies (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kelam_Magnus
7 Replies

4. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

Dead partition on drive