Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Ubuntu How to compare two columns and fetch the common data with additional column Post 302523960 by radoulov on Friday 20th of May 2011 11:36:39 AM
Old 05-20-2011
Code:
awk 'NR == FNR { 
  f[$1]
  next 
  } 
$1 in f
  ' version1 version2

This User Gave Thanks to radoulov For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

find common lines using just one column to compare and result with all columns

Hi. If we have this file A B C 7 8 9 1 2 10 and this other file A C D F 7 9 2 3 9 2 3 4 The result i´m looking for is intersection with A B C D F so the answer here will be (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: alcalina
10 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to compare two columns and retrieve data

I am a newbie to Unix and slowly learning it. I have a large data set with 8 different columns. I want to compare two columns and retrieve data if the two columns have similar number. I have attached the example. There are two columns (S-Contig and N-Contig). I want to retrieve the data from... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: bjorngill
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare a common field in two files and append a column from File 1 in File2

Hi Friends, I am new to Shell Scripting and need your help in the below situation. - I have two files (File 1 and File 2) and the contents of the files are mentioned below. - "Application handle" is the common field in both the files. (NOTE :- PLEASE REFER TO THE ATTACHMENT "Compare files... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Santoshbn
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Match words and fetch data in front of it in second column

Hi all, I have 2 files one file contain data like this in one column AST3 GSTY4 JST3 second file containign data like this in 2 columns AST3(PAXXX),GSTY4(PAXXY) it is used in diabetes KST4 it is used in blood... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: manigrover
6 Replies