Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming Passing by reference question Post 302522951 by mind@work on Tuesday 17th of May 2011 09:32:49 AM
Old 05-17-2011
Passing by reference question

Hello All,

I have a question in the following sample code:

If I am passing a reference of a variable, will the dynamic allocation happen in which it is passed?

Will the dynamic allocation will actually change the memory contents of char array "arr"?

Code:
int main()
{

char *arr;

arr = (char*) malloc(15);

fxn(&arr);

}

int fxn(char** i)
{

//allocated memory: will this change the memory of char array "arr"?

*i = (char*) malloc(25);

//sm code

}

Thank you everyone in advance.

Last edited by mind@work; 05-17-2011 at 10:56 AM..

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Question in reference to the pipe |

My question is can you use the pipe more than one time in the same command line? By the way I am new to UNIX. Thanks in advanced! (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: elkoreanopr
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie Question: passing a variable into java from script?

I'm currently working on my second ever ksh script! So I apologize if this is a stupid question - I've searched the forum and on google and haven't seen anything :confused: I'm running my script with an input at startup that variable determines a couple of other values(int) that I store into... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Cailet
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Question on passing multiple parameters in if

Hi All, My target is to find the list of orphan processes running and i issue the below command with some exception ids. ps -ef | egrep -v "root|system|admin" | awk '{if ($3 == 1) print $1",\t"$2",\t"$3}' but this will exclude the process having the word 'root' and executing under different... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Arunprasad
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Symbol reference