Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: get weekday based on date
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting get weekday based on date Post 302518944 by joeyg on Monday 2nd of May 2011 02:52:40 PM
Old 05-02-2011
Is this what you are looking for?

Code:
$ date "+%A"
Monday

$ date "+%a"
Mon

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

[kornshell] Getting the next weekday date

Hi All can anyone help me with this, Im new to kornshell scripting and is trying to get the next weekday to a variable: strDate=%date '+%Y%m%d' // YYYYMMDD strNewDate= :confused: // assuming that current date is 20050812 (friday) then strNewDate will get 20050815 (monday) or if... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rs_f01
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to get the weekday of the given date?

Hi All, Thanks in Advance. I want a function/script which returns the weekday of the given date. the input to the function/script is the date with format MM/DD/YYYY, it should return the weekday as 1 for sunday, 2 for monday .......7 for saturday. ex: if the function called like this ... (14 Replies)
Discussion started by: rinku11
14 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Get the oldest date based on date in the filename

I am using ksh93 on Solaris. Ok, this may seem like a simple request at first. I have a directory that contains sets of files with a YYYYMMDD component to the name, along with other files of different filespecs. something like this: 20110501_1.dat 20110501_2.dat 20110501_3.dat... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gary_w
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

yesterday's "weekday" date

i've been going through https://www.unix.com/answers-frequently-asked-questions/13785-yesterdays-date-date-arithmetic.html to find a cmd that will print me yesterday's date. I have found one that does it nicely set YEST = `date '+20%y/%m/%d' | awk -F"/" '{print $1$2($3-1)}'` as you can... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jack.bauer