Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting copy specific files and count them - not as easy as it seems! Post 302515667 by DGPickett on Wednesday 20th of April 2011 04:00:20 PM
Old 04-20-2011
This is very central to the whole unix thing -- many false rumors float around this. A script is a pretty fully qualified executable in UNIX, compared to other languages. You are allowed one argument on the first line, BTW, for things like sed and awk that need -f or such to tolerate commands from a file.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

To copy the files newer than specific date

Dear all, Can you help me in copying files newer than speciifc date Thanks in advance, Rajesh (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: RAJESHKANNA
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Recursively copy only specific files from a directory tree

Hi I am a shell-script newbie and am looking to synchronize certain files in two directory structures. Both these directory-trees are in CVS and so I dont want the CVS directory to be copied over. I want only .sh and .pl files in each subdirectory under these directory trees to be... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: sharpsharkrocks
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix command to count the number of files with specific characters in name

Hey all, I'm looking for a command that will search a directory (and all subdirectories) and give me a file count for the number of files that contain specific characters within its filename. e.g. I want to find the number of files that contain "-a.jpg" in their name. All the searching I've... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: murphysm
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need script to count specific word and iterate over number of files.