Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Bash script - Grep
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash script - Grep Post 302514603 by jboy on Sunday 17th of April 2011 03:09:52 AM
Old 04-17-2011
Bash script - Grep

Hi,

I am very new to bash scripting and I need to write a bash script that takes two arguments, a string and a file. The output should be each line which matches the string *from the beginning of the line*. For example, given a string "ANA" the line starting with "ANABEL" will be printed, but the line starting with "SUSANA" will not. I need to use grep.

what I have tried is as follows:

Code:

#!/bin/bash
grep $1 $2

But this doesn't work, any help or direction will be very help, thanks in advance.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash script (using find and grep)

I'm trying to make a simple search script but cannot get it right. The script should search for keywords inside files. Then return the file paths in a variable. (Each file path separated with \n). #!/bin/bash SEARCHQUERY="searchword1 searchword2 searchword3"; for WORD in $SEARCHQUERY do ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: limmer
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with grep and read function in a BASH Script

I'm putting together a script that will search my mail archives for emails that meet certain criteria and output the files to a text file. I can manually cat that text file and pipe it into sendmail and it will work (i.e. cat /pathtofile/foo.txt | sendmail -t me@company.com) My script sends... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: binary-ninja
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem using grep in bash script