Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Ubuntu Can't successfully clone an HDD in Ubuntu, please help Post 302514578 by Unlimitedbt on Saturday 16th of April 2011 09:16:32 PM
Old 04-16-2011
Can't successfully clone an HDD in Ubuntu, please help

Hi guys, I am total newbie to Linux / Ubuntu but trying it to solve the problem I have.
I have an OKI printer with bad HDD and trying to clone one from the same HDD from working printer. Board it goes on has a Fiery chipset and system used is Linux based / related - to the best of my knowlege. I was using dd and ddrescue to clone the 2.5 inch 20GB HDD but got a message "Unauthorized software" when installed the drive.
I had formatted/partitioned the destination drive in exact same manner as original
and used dd to clone - but did not work, Any pro's - please some advice.
Thank you.
Roman.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Old HDD copy to new HDD ? im lost...

Over the last few months the HDD spins louder and louder, so I fiqured its time to replace the HDD. Its been running 24/7/365 since 98 :eek:. yes i said since 98 :D I have an IBM system 43P Model 240. 233 MHz. running AIX Version 4. The current HDD is an IBM DGHS COMP IEC -950 FRU PN#... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Chevy89rocks
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

script has been executed successfully or not??

Guys, How can we know whether a script has been executed successfully or not ? We dont have any log directories, and we are not given a chance to modify the script. Could someone help me out with this Thanks (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: bobby1015
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Cannot successfully execute .sh: su - <name> -c