Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting using switch on multiple arguments Post 302513663 by kristinu on Wednesday 13th of April 2011 08:23:24 PM
Old 04-13-2011
Are the quotes important, or can I go without

Code:
case -fb|--fbase:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

can't TEST multiple arguments for a file

Hi, I'm new to scripting and teaching myself how to code. Using Korn, I coded this one return "True" if a file is executable and it's not empty. However, each time I pass a file that is 777 which contains data, the script returns "false". if then echo "true" else echo... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cruiser
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grepping multiple terms with different arguments

Grep -e 'term1' -A1 -e 'term2' -A3The above code always searches for either term and prints results + next three lines. I'm trying to print out: foo foo foo term1 bar bar bar line right after the above -- la la la la term2 so so so line right after the above and again and again I've... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: dkozel
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How do we pass multiple arguments into awk

How do we pass multiple arguments into awk : name=john age=12 now i have to pass both age and name into awk.. how to do it? like : awk -v var=... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: abhinav192
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

using multiple arguments in my script

hi all i am creating a script to ping hosts and then do a nslookup. So what needs to happen is that i type the script name with an argument eg: zong (script name) 172.x.x.x (IP) at the moment i have got it to take on argument, but idealy i would like it to take more than 1 argument. can you... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: brian112
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Two arguments for optional switch