Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Extract variables from filenames and output to file Post 302513542 by malandisa on Wednesday 13th of April 2011 02:06:08 PM
Old 04-13-2011
Hi kevintse,

Thank you for that explanation and the time you have taken to help. Much appreciated. I am still figuring out how I will add another column there. One way I am thinking is if it is possible to put the 'filename' directly into this line command so that the command does not read the 'filename' from the file called data.

I thought something like this would work...
Quote:
perl -pe 's/^.(\d{4})(\d{3}).*$/$1 $2/' 'e20012110129_xform_azisum_mlt_2.25_0.50.txt'
so that the output is
Quote:
2001 211
then I can add another variable as a third column

Any advice will be appreciated
Thank you

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Passing filenames/variables into a script

Hi! I'm somewhat new to Unix (I use it to fiddle, but not seriously), and at my work I have come to use it quite a bit. My question is this: I want to create a script to take the tedium out of repetitious tasks. However, I need to pass a file name into the script in order for it to work. ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: MrToast
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to extract date out of this filenames

I have filenames filenameA_fg_MMDDYY.tar.gz filenameASPQ_fg_MMDDYY.tar.gz filenameAFTOPHYYINGH_fg_MMDDYY.tar.gz filenameAGHYSW_fg_MMDDYY.tar.gz Is there a way I can extract the date out of these filenames? Thanks in advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: RubinPat
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk splits file in to multiple - how to get filenames in variables withing ksh?