Sponsored Content
Top Forums Programming need help with shell script filtering files and sort! newbie question? Post 302512332 by itkamaraj on Saturday 9th of April 2011 01:42:15 PM
Old 04-09-2011
please post your awk solution. It looks like a home work Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

shell scripting newbie question

Hi all! I'm a newbie to shell scripting. I want to create a script that will store a line from a text file in a variable so I can then use it to open firefox with that text in the address bar (the text file contains a list of addresses). I have tried the following: #!/bin/sh a='sed -n 2p... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jazzman
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie question-do I pause and exec my shell scripts?

Hi there, I'm writing a script to restore 3 directories and 3 mysql db's every 24 hours. While writing the script, I came across the thought... Do I need to pause between executions? Example: msql restore1.sql rm -Rf path1/* cp -Rf path1/* /restore1 chmod 777 /folder1/cache1 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: semiotics101
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell script to sort and execute files sequentially

Hi, I want to sort my files under a directory and execute them sequentially. For ex: my diir contains files: a_5.sql, ab_2.sql,abc_3.sql, acbd_1 ,ab_4.sql, etc. I want to execute the files based on the last number after underscore sequentially(i.e.. _1,_2,etc) . Can anybody help me? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: MuraliKrisna
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie Question: Killing a process using a supplied name to a shell script