Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions Help with Backup Shell Script Post 302509074 by kjmpa26 on Tuesday 29th of March 2011 06:04:43 PM
Old 03-29-2011
I only want to backup files that I would need to restore the system if it went down. The system that would be used is Zorin os4. I am not sure how to break that down further, I know it has something to do with Ubuntu (as you can tell, I am brand new to Linux and don't know very much). In doing my research I learned the TAR commmand will backup only important system files, below is the command; is there anything I would need to change?

tar cvpzf backup.tgz --exclude=/proc --exclude=/lost+found --exclude=/backup.tgz --exclude=/mnt --exclude=/sys /

Last edited by kjmpa26; 03-29-2011 at 07:20 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with a backup shell script

I'm having an issue with a problem A problem with this backup script is that if you backup the same file twice, you may get a warning message because you're overwriting an existing file. You could suppress the warning message, but a better solution is to save a series of backups distinguished by... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Dingosatemypant
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with a backup shell script

am writing my very first shell script and need some assistance. What I need help on is three things in particular. 1) Do I need to use the sleep function after the tar command or does the script know to wait until tar finishes to move on to the next line? 2) Did I populate the variable DATE... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: rhm54
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with backup shell script