Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to pass a parameter from the terminal? Post 302508812 by vess on Tuesday 29th of March 2011 06:31:47 AM
Old 03-29-2011
How to pass a parameter from the terminal?

Hi,
I am new in Ubuntu, I will be glud to know:
1. How to pass a parameter from the terminal to a file that I write in shell script. What is the command line I need to write in the terminal?
2. How to get the parameter in the file? What do I need to write in the file?
3. What kind of file is it (maybe myfile.sh?)
thanks.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

PASS parameter to AWK

Hi, Can i pass a parameter(not a file name) as a parameter to a awk program? eg; $awk -f test 1 2 3 here test is the filename...and 1,2,3 are the i/p parameters? thank you:-) (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: unisam
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help required to pass the parameter

i am calling a pl/sql procedure through a shell script, there is one IN and 2 OUT parameter required to pass to the procedure to execute.. My procedure is XX_CITIDIRECT_EXP_PKG.main_proc and In parameter is p_period which I wanto to pass 'MAY-06'. Can anyone figure out, whats is wrong here ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: u263066
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Pass parameter into script

I would like to write a scirpt a.sh that it first checks the first parameter of the input. If it fulfill some condition ,then run an executable program b by using all the parameter. ie. > ./a.sh 10 20 30 40 50 Then a.sh first checks the first parameter, 10, if it mathes the requirement, then... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: alfredo
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to pass a parameter

Hi all, How to pass a parameter from a oracle pl/sql procedure parameter to shell environment and use it? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: megh
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting