Sponsored Content
Homework and Emergencies Homework & Coursework Questions Create script to add user and create directory Post 302505738 by pbhound on Thursday 17th of March 2011 04:39:29 PM
Old 03-17-2011
Create script to add user and create directory

first off let me introduce myself. My name is Eric and I am new to linux, I am taking an advanced linux administration class and we are tasked with creating a script to add new users that anyone can run, has to check for the existence of a directory. if the directory does not exist then it has to be created. if it doe then it has to just proceed with the new user addition.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data:

how do i get this script to be able to create the directory if it does not exist?
or how do i get this script to run as root?
thanks in advance

2. Relevant commands, code, scripts, algorithms:
i have the script partially written i have rudimentary if/then/else statement where the first line reads:
Code:
echo "What department are you assigned to?"
read department     # $department
sleep 2
echo "you are assigned to the: $department"
sleep 7
clear

if [ -d /home/timberwolves/$department ]
then 
         echo "directory exists"
         sleep 3
         echo "what is your first name"
         read FirstName    # $FirstName
         sleep 2
         clear
         echo "what is your last name?"
         read LastName     # $LastName
         echo "You entered: $LastName"
         sleep 2
         clear
         echo "Please type your password (must be at least  characters)"
         read password      # $password
         sleep 2
         clear
         echo "The password you chose is: $password"
         sleep 7
         clear
         echo "Your login name will be: $FirstName"
         sleep 2
         clear
         echo "Your home directory will be: /home/timberwolves/$department/$FirstName
          sleep 7
          clear
else
mkdir -p /home/timberwolves/$department