Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting mappin strings of two different file and finding the mapped string and then map other fields. Post 302505434 by dsh007 on Thursday 17th of March 2011 01:42:07 AM
Old 03-17-2011
i m using unix operating system( bash)

---------- Post updated at 11:12 AM ---------- Previous update was at 10:46 AM ----------

hey its ok i made it work by myself.....
my code is like this

Code:
awk ' BEGIN { FS="|";
while ( getline < "all_spec.txt" > 0)
   a[$1]=$2
}
{
if($1 in a)
    printf("%s %s\n", $1, a[$1])
} ' sample.txt

but as i said you earlier i am new to UNIX so having a lot of questions in my mind,
and lot of doubts. one of them is like as in normal programming we declare variables
and later use those variables in our function and loops,in the same way i want to declare variable and can use it inside the script.
Like i want to assign my b.txt fields as variable as a= General Practice, b= Family practice
and later can use in the script. Is it possible if it is then help me on
this program how to do this by declaring variables in the above codes.
so rply as soon as possible..................

Last edited by dsh007; 03-18-2011 at 06:04 AM..

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding a certain string on each line in a file

Hi, I need a script to get every line from a file where there are less then 17 ; on a line. Thank's (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: VODAFUN
5 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

finding a string in a file

hi all.. I dont know how to search for a string in a file.. I have tried doing.. I did google but didnt get effective answers..my code is as follows: int search(char* filename,const char* username,const char* passwd) { int flag=0; unsigned long fsize=0; unsigned long current=0;... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ume1986
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help with finding unique string in log file