Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Wordpad file in solaris
Operating Systems Solaris Wordpad file in solaris Post 302504965 by fugitive on Tuesday 15th of March 2011 09:15:41 PM
Old 03-15-2011
I did try

Code:
1.  saving the file in unicode txt document
2.  copy the file to vi 
3.  using cat -vte

and none helped , the problem is that i have to get the o/p from the file and sort it and then put it into different file but since this file has several dozen columns its not opening properly in vi , cat as it opens in wordpad or txtpad.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

Wordpad or Notepad?

I am new to using UNIX and after uploading a new script to UNIX from Windows using FTP, the script doesn't always work. It seems this depends on the text editor I use and the transfer type. I understand all scripts should be transferred using ASCII, but can you advise which is the best text editor... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: Heidi.Ebbs
12 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unzipping a file in Solaris - Issue with xls file

Hi, I have an excel file generated by system in windows. I am zipping it, transfering to unix and unzipping there. But i'm getting below output while unzipping. $ /usr/bin/unzip -a 123.zip -d . Archive: 123.zip inflating: ./123/Index.xls When i copy this unzipped xls file to... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: ajaykumarb
0 Replies

3. Solaris

Open .z file on solaris

Hello Admins; Anybody can suggest on how to open ".z" files on solaris. Thanks (16 Replies)
Discussion started by: snchaudhari2
16 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to print excel file / csv file in solaris server ?