Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Alphabetical sort for multi line records contains in a single file Post 302504378 by joeyg on Monday 14th of March 2011 12:11:03 PM
Old 03-14-2011
One thought is to put each record on one line.
If each company name preceded by-
Code:
Name: Acme
Add1: 12 Main St.
Name: Boris
Add1: 200 Potomac

Then
Code:
sed 's/Name/~Name/g' <infile | tr "\n" "^" | tr "~" "\n"

Add the ~ so can later force new-line. Get rid of extra new-lines by replacing with ^. Make the ~ into new lines so every record now on one line.
Do your sort. Then
Code:
tr "^" "\n"

to put the new-lines back in there.
This User Gave Thanks to joeyg For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK Multi-Line Records Processing

I am an Awk newbie and cannot wrap my brain around my problem: Given multi-line records of varying lengths separated by a blank line I need to skip the first two lines of every record and extract every-other line in each record unless the first line of the record has the word "(CONT)" in the... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: RacerX
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to use Perl to merge multi-line into single line

Hi, Can anyone know how to use perl to merge the following multi-line information which beginning with "BAM" into one line. For each line need to delete the return and add a space. Please see the red color line. ******Org. Multi-line) BAM admin 101.203.57.22 ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: happyday
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How can I list the file under a directory both in alphabetical and in reverse alphabetical order?

How can I list the file under current directory both in alphabetical and in reverse alphabetical order? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: g.ashok
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Capturing multi-line records containing known value?