Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux How to sort the number of occurrences Post 302501365 by joeyg on Thursday 3rd of March 2011 10:56:54 AM
Old 03-03-2011
Take another look at my 2nd command. That sorts based on the count.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

output the letters of the alphabet with the number of occurrences

hi, I'm trying to create a program that will read a file and then check the file for each letter of the alphabet and then output the letter and the number of times it appears in the file, into a new file... this is what i have so far but it's not working.. if anyone could help that would be nice!... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: svd
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count the number of occurrences of the word

I am a newbie in UNIX shell script and seeking help on this UNIX function. Please give me a hand. Thanks. I have a large file. Named as 'MyFile'. It was tab-delmited. I am told to write a shell function that counts the number of occurrences of the ord “mysring” in the file 'MyFile'. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: duke0001
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Print number of occurrences of many different strings

People, I need your help with making a script which will 1. take as an input the number of lines, smth like this: ((RUBROBACTER_1_PE1288 (((SALINISPORA_1_PE1863 SALINISPORA_1_PE1828)100 ((NOCARDIOIDES_2_PE2419 PROPIONIBACTERIUM_1_PE1395)96 ((((((((CORYNEBACTERIUM_1_PE1119... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: roussine
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

counting number of pattern occurrences

Hi All, Is it possible to count number of occurrences of a pattern in a single record using awk?? for example: a line like this: abrsjdfhafa I want to count the number of a character occurrences. but still use the default RS, I don't want to set RS to single character. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ghoda2_10
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting