Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting moving files between directories !! Post 302500886 by Chubler_XL on Tuesday 1st of March 2011 11:46:08 PM
Old 03-02-2011
How about this (remove the echo when your sure it's doing what you want):

Code:
while read subdir
do
  for v in v03 v05
  do
    for m in mm mm_new mm_old
    do
      [ -d abchome/abc/xxyz/nl_xxabc/$m/$subdir/$v ] &&
      [ -d abcprojs/abc/mm/$subdir ] &&
      echo mv abchome/abc/xxyz/nl_xxabc/$m/$subdir/$v abcprojs/abc/mm/$subdir/
    done
  done
done < dirlist.txt

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving directories to new directories on multiple servers

Hi - I am new to unix scripts...I need to move several directories on multiple servers to new directories. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mackdaddy07
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash and Awk for creating directories and moving files

I have a security system that FTPs the camera files to my machine, however I want to sort the pictures (taken every 30s) into directories by hour. Every picture uses the following file format. yymmddhhmmsstt.jpg (where tt is the milliseconds) I am thinking the for loop is best for file... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kiint
11 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Moving files between directories using SFTP

I want to connect to an SFTP server, GET some files, then move those files to a different directory on the SFTP server so I don't try to GET them next time. But there doesn't seem to be a way to move files between directories on the remote server from SFTP. I missing something obvious? And if... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: cjhancock
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Moving files out of multiple directories and renaming them in numerical order