Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Core Dumping?
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat Core Dumping? Post 302500341 by fpmurphy on Monday 28th of February 2011 09:21:40 AM
Old 02-28-2011
kdump is for kernel crash dumping - not core dumps.

Assuming abrtd is not running, to find the core dump pattern do:
Code:
# sysctl -a | grep core_pattern

and then search for that.

For example
Code:
# sysctl -a | grep core_pattern
kernel.core_pattern = /tmp/core.%p

This means that the core dump files will be generated in the “/tmp” directory. The “%p” extension is used to append the process id of the application that crashed. BTW, the variable kernel.core_pattern can also used to change the name of core dump files so they are not necessarily named "core"

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Dumping files to tape

Can anyone please help.... how can I dump just a single file to tape using the ufsrestore command!!! I'm a newbie to unix and It's driving me mad.. Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jonathan
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Dumping multiple Folders

How would i go about dumping my /home/ directory and my /root directory i currently have..... dump -f /root/backup.dp /home/ /root/ ...but dump only seems to see only my first source directory and not the second (/root in this case) anyone know a way around this..or if it is even... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Freakytah
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

dumping data and compressing

I have a utility provided by our vendor to dump data from their system. It is expsysdb -s prod proddata.dmp "-s" and "prod" are parameters and "proddata.dmp" is the file name that the data is dumped to (this can be any name). Our current system (AIX 4.3) has a file size limit set to 1... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: jyoung
7 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

dumping to tape from /tmp