Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting [awk]compare a number in a string with a list Post 302498519 by sandeepk1611 on Monday 21st of February 2011 03:24:43 PM
Old 02-21-2011
For the current file I have, the output looks like this,

Code:
Filename    Selected Revisions    Number of Authors       Total Lines Added
DebugElement.java     0
DebugEvent.java         2                           1                               3
DebugPlugin.java       16                           3                              158

and so on.
Now, I need another column named Number of Bugfixes, and the number that I count for each file, will be the value there.

So for each file (each record in awk separated by ======), I have to get a count.

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

String compare with list in shell script

Hi , I am new to shell scripting. below is my requirement : 1) while running my .sh i will pass a string 2) i have to extract a folder name under a /config folder 3) i need to compare a input string in the folder name list 4) if that is true i have to continue my job else i have to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajinavaneethan
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk conditional expression to compare field number and variable value

Hi, I'm trying to compare the value in a field to the value in a variable using awk. This works: awk '$7 == "101"'but this is what I want (and it doesn't work): value=101 awk '$7 == "$value"' Any help or insight on this would be great. Thanks in advance. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: goodbenito
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare strings between 2 arrays and print number in AWK