Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting [awk]compare a number in a string with a list Post 302498517 by radoulov on Monday 21st of February 2011 03:19:08 PM
Old 02-21-2011
OK,
could you please specify the pattern? How exactly the lines you're interested in look like?
Where in your sample above is the commit data?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

String compare with list in shell script

Hi , I am new to shell scripting. below is my requirement : 1) while running my .sh i will pass a string 2) i have to extract a folder name under a /config folder 3) i need to compare a input string in the folder name list 4) if that is true i have to continue my job else i have to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajinavaneethan
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk conditional expression to compare field number and variable value

Hi, I'm trying to compare the value in a field to the value in a variable using awk. This works: awk '$7 == "101"'but this is what I want (and it doesn't work): value=101 awk '$7 == "$value"' Any help or insight on this would be great. Thanks in advance. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: goodbenito
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Compare strings between 2 arrays and print number in AWK

Hi to everyone, Please some help over here. Hi have array a with 6 elements and array b with 3 elements as shown inside BEGIN{} statement. I need help to get the correct sintax (the part in red) to compare if string from array b is in array a and print the number related for each match.... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ophiuchus
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk to compare hex number

$ awk 'BEGIN{ pat111=0x1000000002E3E02; snBegin=0x1000000002E3E01; if (pat111<=snBegin) printf "a\n"}' a Result is not correct. Looks like the number is too big. Any idea? Thx! Please use code tags <- click the link! (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: carloszhang