Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: File Protection and Security
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting File Protection and Security Post 302498457 by imjustjong on Monday 21st of February 2011 11:14:51 AM
Old 02-21-2011
File Protection and Security

Since I'm just new in unix, can I ask the experts on how I can develop or enhance a unix utility in protecting or securing a file using scripts.

Im thinking chmod, is it enought? or are there other utilities in unix?

My algorithm is like there will be a menu that shows a list of types of protection that the user wants to put in his/her file. and also to unprotect files. *I need more ideas.

sample

1 Protect
2 Unprotect
3 etc that you can add
4 etc that you can add
5. maybe exit here.

then input will be

"filename" "choice"

Thanks in advance Smilie

We Also Found This Discussion For You

1. Linux

file security/protection

Hi All I am working on a site to help newbie to learn linux for free. demo.freelinuxconsole.info there is only one file index.php its been able to rename or deleted. Kindly let me know what permissions should i give to secure this file from editing or deleting by others. (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: smithjack
8 Replies
IXPC(1) 						      General Commands Manual							   IXPC(1)

NAME
ixpc - ixp client SYNOPSIS
ixpc [-a address] action file ixpc -v DESCRIPTION