Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: cut or remove command
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers cut or remove command Post 302498363 by arunmanas on Monday 21st of February 2011 06:47:00 AM
Old 02-21-2011
cut or remove command

hi,

I want to remove first word in all files where first and second word is seperated by comma.

example: a file contains Apple,mango.

i need only mango shoule be there in the file???

Apple, should be removed!!!!!

can anyone help me out???

thanks in advance,
Arun ManasSmilie

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

using cut command

I am new to unix ... I have a file with name unixile.123761 I need to cut the extension from this file name? can u help me for this i have tried like follows copied the file lo one variable v and then `echo $v | grep cut -d = -f 1` (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: shika123
8 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

command to cut

hello , i am grepping for a variable which looks like this... washome=/home/etc/config/was how can i cut the the above like which removes washome= so that i will get /home/etc/config/was Thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nagendramv
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cut Command error cut: Bad range

Hi Can anyone what I am doing wrong while using cut command. for f in *.log do logfilename=$f Log "Log file Name: $logfilename" logfile1=`basename $logfilename .log` flength=${#logfile1} Log "file length $flength" from_length=$(($flength - 15)) Log "from... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dgmm
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

CSV with commas in field values, remove duplicates, cut columns

Hi Description of input file I have: ------------------------- 1) CSV with double quotes for string fields. 2) Some string fields have Comma as part of field value. 3) Have Duplicate lines 4) Have 200 columns/fields 5) File size is more than 10GB Description of output file I need:... (4 Replies)