Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting help with updating date+revision in a file Post 302495576 by momin on Thursday 10th of February 2011 03:56:20 PM
Old 02-10-2011
This is what I am getting:
HTML Code:
# awk -v t=$today 'NR==3 { d=substr($1,1,8);i=substr($1,9,2); $1=(t==d)?d i+1 ";" :t "01;" }1' db.gprs > tmp
bash: tmp: cannot overwrite existing file
#
Can you pointg out where I an going wrong?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

TO know whether file is updating or not

Hi All, I am new to scripting. my requirement is , I want to know whether the file(i.e., log file) is updating or not. It should search for every 15 min. If it is not updating means it needs to send out a automatic mail. can you please help me in this. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: raj333
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk updating one file with another, comparing, updating

Hello, I read and search through this wonderful forum and tried different approaches but it seems I lack some knowledge and neurones ^^ Here is what I'm trying to achieve : file1: test filea 3495; test fileb 4578; test filec 7689; test filey 9978; test filez 12300; file2: test filea... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: mecano
11 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

wtmpx file is not updating

Hi in my solaris 9 system wmptx file is not updating so it is not recording any login or logout or any other entry. can any one tell me how to solve this problem (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: aaysa123
0 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Updating a field in a File without creating temp file's

Hi Experts, I have a requirement where i need to update the below items in file, 1. END TIME 2. PREV_STATUS For the first time the PREV_status and end time of all job the job will be sysdate & NULL reply as below, Session_name,Load Type,Frequency,Seesion End time,Prev_Status... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: prabhutkl