Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers How to execute a command in Cygwin? Post 302494652 by Kiran S on Tuesday 8th of February 2011 02:07:36 AM
Old 02-08-2011
How to execute a command in Cygwin?

Hi,
I have installed CYGWIN software in my system, can anyone suggest me how to run cat command in this software ?
when i attempt to execute this command-
$ cat /cygdrive/c/Program\Files/hello.txt.
Result: No such file or directory.

Please let me know how to execute.

Regards,
Kiran.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Sed command in cygwin

I am new to unix and lerning tru cygwin (unix simulation on windows) i am trying to lern sed command and want to interchange first and second no in a string. What i mean is i want gauri 1234 556 to gauri 556 1234 i am getting the following error $ echo gauri 1234 556 | sed s/\(*\)... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gauri_agr
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to use route command on SuSE & Cygwin

If I'm at a wireless cafe running SuSE and I want to read my mail but the wireless cafe blocks port 25 for smtp but I have a VPN connection to my home machine, how do I use the "route" command. If I'm at home on my windows machine and have a VPN connection to another network, can I use the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: siegfried
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

cygwin and remote find command problem

Sir, I want to get all the files in directory on a remote server which are dated newer than a specified file. I have ssh running and the command I am using is : for file_name in `ssh userid@IP find "/cygdrive/d/oracle/oradata/db/archive" -newer "1_44.DBF" -name '*.DBF' -type f -print | xargs -r... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: nakod1
2 Replies

4. Windows & DOS: Issues & Discussions

Output of ls command on Cygwin