Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Beginner: Count & Sort Using Array's Post 302493953 by BigTOE on Friday 4th of February 2011 10:01:43 AM
Old 02-04-2011
Beginner: Count & Sort Using Array's

Hi,

I'm new to linux & bash so please forgive my ignorance, just wondering if anyone can help.

I have a file (mainfile.txt) with comma deliminated values, like so:
Code:

$1  $2  $3
613212, 36, 57
613212, 36, 10
613212, 36, 10
677774, 36, 57
619900, 10, 10

i need to split this file into two files. Any entries where the first number ($1) is in more than once needs to go in file1.txt. Any entries that only occur once need to go into file2.txt, like so:

File1.txt
Code:
613212, 36, 57
613212, 36, 10
613212, 36, 10

File2.txt
Code:
677774, 36, 57
619900, 10, 10

Any solution to this problem would be greatly appreciated, no matter how implemented.

however, i would like to get experience using arrays so a solution incorporating them would be fantastic. i've experimented with them, like this, but cant get my head around them.
Code:
awk ' { arr[$0]++ } END { for( str in arr  ) { if ( arr[str] = 1 ) print str " " arr[str] } } ' /directory/mainfile.txt | >/directory/file1.txt

awk ' { arr[$0]++ } END { for( str in arr  ) { if ( arr[str] > 1 ) print str " " arr[str] } } ' /directory/mainfile.txt | >/directory/file2.txt

It's a botch job and not surprisingly doesnt work. even if it did, how do i specify $1 and only $1 as the thing to look at, instead of a string?

Cheers,

IanSmilie

Last edited by Scott; 02-04-2011 at 12:05 PM.. Reason: Please use code tags

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sort and count using AWK

Hi, I've a fixed width file where I need to count the number of patterns from each line between characters 1 to 15 . so can we sort them and get a count for each pattern on the file between 1 to 15 characters. 65795648617522383763831552 410828003265795648 6175223837... (5 Replies)