Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to Toggle Flag/Switch Value with Sed Post 302493826 by ghostdog74 on Thursday 3rd of February 2011 08:30:34 PM
Old 02-03-2011
well, if you want to toggle the string FLAG=0
Code:
$ awk -F"=" '/FLAG/{$2=!$2;print}' OFS="=" file

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

How to toggle BACKSPACE/DEL function for backArrow key for terminal other than xterm?

Hi all, I've got the problem which I can't resolve with my knowledge :) For xterm terminal we have resource class XTerm*backarrowKey. If we set it to true, backspace code (ASCII 0x8) will be sent to program. We can get it using e.g. getc() function. If it is disabled getc() returns DEL(0x7F). ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: dmitryb
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Toggle Hidden Files Mac OS X

Hi all, I have been using Ubuntu for 2 years now, and a few days ago I bought a Macbook. This is my first time using a Mac, so I have spent the better of two days learning the user interface, and configuring my Macbook. One thing I noticed is that there is no easy way to turn on and off hidden... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Omniwheel
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl script to toggle through dates by week

Hi, I need help to toggle through dates on a weekly basis to be fed into a script as inputs. The format should be: yyyy/mm/dd (start) yyyy/mm/dd (end), where end date is 7 days increments. The date (start) would be input as an ARGV and would continue until current date. I can check... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: subhap
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

pass variable to sed like in awk (-v switch)

hi all is possible to pass shell (bash) variable to sed like it is in awk? example: awk script is storred in awk.awk file and I am passing variable called var to this file. $ cat awk.awk {if ($5==var) print $0} so it works when i issue $ bash_var=24 $ ls -l | awk -v... (1 Reply)