Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Bash assign string to variable Post 302493740 by cfajohnson on Thursday 3rd of February 2011 02:49:03 PM
Old 02-03-2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ghostdog74
Whatever it is, the OP did not say he wants or not to do POSIX mode. The title also specifically said "Bash".
Using "let" the way he uses it is not "wrong" either, since its supported in Bash, (although I do agree it's not necessary.)

The way he used it is wrong. He was using it to assign a string.

In any case, I do not recommend bad practices to people just learning the shell. One may be using bash now, but in the future may have to use a shell that doesn't support let in any context. If it added something to the script, there would be some justification for it, but it doesn't.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to assign variable from a string having blanks in between

Hi All, I am new to bash scripting. I need your help to removing spaces from a string and assign them to different variables. Iwant to call script with one command line argument which is file name which containes different attributes their type and different values eg ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: flextronics
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

read and assign each character from the string to a variable

How... can I read input by a user character by cahracter. And assign each character from the string to a variable? Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Tek-E
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Assign bash command to variable

Hi I am trying to write a function that needs to be able to assign the last run shell command to a variable. The actual command string itself not the exit code of the command. I am using the bash command recall ability to do this as follows: alias pb='ps | grep ash' ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Moxy
3 Replies