Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: delete string using AWK
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting delete string using AWK Post 302493226 by rocking77 on Wednesday 2nd of February 2011 07:21:24 AM
Old 02-02-2011
delete string using AWK

inputfile has 3 columns

Code:
SCHEMA.TAB1  COL1 LENGTH
SCHEMA.TAB2  COL2 LENGTH.

If i use awk on the above inputfile

awk '{print $1}' inputfile.The out put will be

Code:
SCHEMA.TAB1
SCHEMA.TAB2.

But from the above output i need to delete SCHEMA. i.e i don't want the string "SCHEMA." should display in output.Can some body help me how to code that ?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete a comma from string

Hey guys, Its a simple question though, but since I'm new to this shell scripting world ... it's kind of difficult. Say I have some string as : ListenAddress=ABCServer1,ABCServer2 I want to output the value of ListenAddress as ... ABCServer1 ABCServer2 so, basically, I want to... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: MisterKhan
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

delete a string on column1

Hi I have a file with multiple columns. But there is something weird on column one that is attached to the name. The good thing is that its a consistent pattern so there should be a way to remove it. So the first column looks something like this: name_345.4ml date_3456.4ml year_12.4ml... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: kylle345
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Grep a string from input file and delete next three lines including the line contains string in xml

Hi, 1_strings file contains $ cat 1_strings /home/$USER/Src /home/Valid /home/Review$ cat myxml <projected value="some string" path="/home/$USER/Src"> <input 1/> <estimate value/> <somestring/> </projected> <few more lines > <projected value="some string" path="/home/$USER/check">... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: greet_sed
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting