Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Looping using cut statement
Homework and Emergencies Emergency UNIX and Linux Support Looping using cut statement Post 302492474 by DGPickett on Monday 31st of January 2011 02:39:54 PM
Old 01-31-2011
That's fine, but it kinda begs the question of what loop this lives in. Maybe while read . . . do . . . done <file.csv

Also, true csv has double quoting, a little hard to deal with outside a real language.

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Iterative statement to cut values from a line

Hi I am new to shell scripting and trying to get values from a text file, I have a text file with values seperated with "|". like aga|120220090525|120220090525|120220090525|120220090530 bab|120220090530|120220090530|120220090535|120220090535|120220090535... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mannepalli
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cut Command error cut: Bad range

Hi Can anyone what I am doing wrong while using cut command. for f in *.log do logfilename=$f Log "Log file Name: $logfilename" logfile1=`basename $logfilename .log` flength=${#logfile1} Log "file length $flength" from_length=$(($flength - 15)) Log "from... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: dgmm
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Help with cut statement

Hi i have the below content in a file and i am trying to cut 5.4 , but when i use the below cut command nothing comes up . I am not sure what i am doing wrong. I am new to unix. Please help me, thanks for the help in advance. $ cat pid.txt 5.4 21399 ./PreRating $ cut -d ' ' -f1 pid.txt ... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: nick1982
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Convert Update statement into Insert statement in UNIX using awk, sed....