Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Any Beos versions work on AMD64-type PCs? Post 302491091 by Varsel on Wednesday 26th of January 2011 05:08:25 PM
Old 01-26-2011
Any Beos versions work on AMD64-type PCs?

Preparing to get my first home PC via custom-build shop. It will have three hard disk drives...one to be used only for trial of various OSs. Was hoping to test out Haiku, but according to 'supported architectures' table at Wikipedia ("Comparison of open source operating systems"), it only works on x86/i386.IA-32, and x86SMP. I'm having AMD64 built...either AthlonII (x2,x3, or x4) or PhenomII (x2,x3, or x4), so seems Haiku is dead-end for me, but still hoping for BeOS. Will any other BeOS (BeOS R5, OpenBeOS, BlueOS, etc.) run on x86-64 PC?

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

BeOS download

Hi everyone, I'm new to this Unix forum.. Is BeOS free to download or where can i download it from?? I did find BeOS 5 Personal Edition but that runs under windows and i don't create any partition. I do run Windows XP pro and i like it alot. Does anyone know where i can get BeOS from that does... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: dsantamassino
1 Replies

2. Programming

array type has incomplete element type

Dear colleagues, One of my friend have a problem with c code. While compiling a c program it displays a message like "array type has incomplete element type". Any body can provide a solution for it. Jaganadh.G (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jaganadh
1 Replies

3. Linux Benchmarks

AMD Phenom(tm) 9950 Quad-Core Processor, Ram: 3.6 GB, Foxconn 7da-s and Linux 2.6.26-2-amd64

CPU/Speed: AMD Phenom(tm) 9950 Quad-Core Processor Ram: 3.6 GB Motherboard: Foxconn 7da-s Bus: Cache: Controller: Disk: Load: Kernel: Linux 2.6.26-2-amd64 Kernel ELF?: pgms: ============================================================== BYTE UNIX Benchmarks (Version... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: migracho
0 Replies