Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Find files that do not match specific patterns Post 302490878 by SandmanCL on Wednesday 26th of January 2011 03:21:36 AM
Old 01-26-2011
Not too elegant, but this perl example should print a list of files that don't match your patterns:

Code:
#!/usr/local/bin/perl

$\ = "\n";

@files = split/\n/,`ls /path/to/your/dir`;
foreach (@files) {
  if (!/^...-..-....\.jpp|^...-..-....-.mi\.jpg/) {
    print;
  }
}

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

script to match patterns in 2 different files.

I am new to shell scripting and need some help. I googled, but couldn't find a similar scenario. Basically, I need to rename a datafile. This is the scenario - I have a file, readonly.txt that has 2 columns - file# and name. I have another file,missing_files.txt that has id and name. Both the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mathews
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using AWK to match CSV files with duplicate patterns

Dear awk users, I am trying to use awk to match records across two moderately large CSV files. File1 is a pattern file with 173,200 lines, many of which are repeated. The order in which these lines are displayed is important, and I would like to preserve it. File2 is a data file with 456,000... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: isuewing
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

move files that match specific conditions

Hi all, I'm new to this forum and bash scripting. I have the following problem, I need to copy some files (from one dir. to another) whose first 5 numbers (subjects' ID) match the directory names. Here a shortened version of what I'm trying to do: names=(32983_f 35416_f 43579_f) # these are... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ada1983
6 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Find diff between two patterns in two files and append