Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to fix file with more delimiters Post 302490055 by rdcwayx on Sunday 23rd of January 2011 06:07:18 PM
Old 01-23-2011
Code:
sed 's/,//3' infile

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How do I insert commas/delimiters in File

Hi, Newbie here. Need to convert a txt file to .csv format. There's no character to replace so not sure if I can use sed :confused: . The comma is to be inserted after every certain number of characters in each line... Help! Thanks. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mbelen
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to count number of delimiters in a file name

I have a list of files with names as "FULL_abcd_xyz_timestamp.txt" and "FULL_xx_abcd_xyz_timestamp.txt". I am writing a script with a 'for loop' to take each file, strip the "FULL" and "timestamp" from the file name and do some actions on the contains of the file. So I need to know the number of... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ayanbiswas
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Removing unnecessary Delimiters from a file

Hi all, I have a pipe delimited file - (sample data) 1|1|K|Doe|1234567890|123456789|EXP|99|99|John|Y|Dallas|Texas|Kyle|999 2|1|A|2|01/01/9999|Appl|01/01/9999|vendor|Select|||||| 3|1|A|2|01/01/9999|Check|01/01/9999|ksmith|Suggest|||||| 4|1|T|Complaint|Mary|01/01/9999|01/01/9999|||||||... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sumeet
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cutting a file with multiple delimiters into columns

Hi All I have recently had to start using Unix for work and I have hit brick wall with this prob.... I have a file that goes a little something like this.... EUR;EUR;EUR:USD:USD;USD;;;EUR/USD;XAU/AUD;XAU/EUR;XAU/AUD,GBP/BOB,UAD/XAU;;;1.11;2.22;3.33;4.44;5.55;6.66;;; is it possible to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: luckycharm
7 Replies

5. UNIX and Linux Applications