Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to use dir_colors to change color of files with executable privileges Post 302489193 by Chubler_XL on Wednesday 19th of January 2011 06:08:04 PM
Old 01-19-2011
Best bet is to do dircolors -p > ~/.dircolors

Edit your ~/.dircolors and put your .inp at the top (or before EXEC) and then run eval $(dircolors -b ~/.dircolors)

This re-sets up the LS_COLORS env var, and that's what ls --color=auto uses
This User Gave Thanks to Chubler_XL For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Change background color in VI editor

Hi, I am new to unix. How can i change the background color in vi? Thank you. -tictactoe (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: tictactoe
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Font Color Change Using .profile

Does anyone know how can I change font color, background color etc for a particular user using .profile? Any help is appreciated. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: fifo_vs_lifo23
0 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to change the font or color of text

Hi Gurus, I have a small requirement where i want to change the color & font of some text in a file. i have a file error.txt which will be created in the script using egrep. After that iam adding these lines at head & tail to that file using the following code awk 'BEGIN{print"Please... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: pssandeep
4 Replies

4. Linux

DIR_COLORS change in fedora

Hi all, I'm using fedora 6 and I did change the colors in /etc/DIR_COLORS file. The changes are effect everywhere except "root" log in If I open it in a gnome terminal. If I go command line for "root" (Alt+F2) the changes are there but not in root using gnome terminal. For all other users, the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: lchokka
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Change file privileges automatically