Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers require detailed description for df -k command Post 302488036 by methyl on Friday 14th of January 2011 04:34:57 PM
Old 01-14-2011
Please give a detailed example, showing what command(s) you typed, what the answer was, and what you think is wrong. Please mention the Operating System and version and the type of filesystem (e.g. ufs, vxfs). Were you logged in as user "root".

On some versions of unix I have seen the free space reported quite differently according to whether you are logged in as "root" or as a basic user. The difference is usually 10% of the capacity of the filesystem but is configurable.

Let's see your numbers.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Command to require OS info

Hi, I am new to UNIX environment. Can anybody tell me how can I check whether my OS is 32bit or 64bit? Regards, Malay Mary (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: malaymaru
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

require help about cut command

hi, im trying to cut the file using cut command in unix . the problem is i want to input the chacter list from another file and then using the postioins specified in this file i want to cut another file. for eg. cut -c(here i want to use a list being read from a file) listdata(this is the file i... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vikramchots
2 Replies

3. Solaris

Please tell me the Detailed Booting procedure of Solaris 8

Can anyone explain me the detailed booting procedure on Solaris 2.8 Regards, Max29583 (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: max29583
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

require alternate command for lsof

Using lsof command i can find out which process-id is associated with the port. lsof -i :51000 . But as part of process i cant have lsof in the server. I am using sun solaris 8 and only kshell. Is there a way to find out which process is using the above port. as of now i am gettn port... (1 Reply)