Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Fedora Recommendations on Unix Distro Post 302486310 by pludi on Friday 7th of January 2011 05:16:57 PM
Old 01-07-2011
As always with those questions: it depends. What skills do you want to learn? What direction do you want to go in your job? Do you want to use the installation for everyday, or for a server? A firewall?

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Recommendations for a convert

I'm on my way, I've seen the light and it's not a train at the other end of the tunnel :) What tutorial or manual or reference point(s) would you recommend for an experienced DOS and CP/M type, who wants to learn the command equivalents within Unix? I have a good understanding of program... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Keith
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX Hardware Recommendations pls

Hello, I'm a Computer Engineering student at Portland State University and am seriously trying to broaden my horizons in UNIX. My goal is to eventually become an excellent sys admin, but alas...I'm just starting off on this path. I am relatively new (though not unexposed) to UNIX and... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Cyron5
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

your recommendations

Hi all, I'm trying to teach myself shell programming and scripting. What are good introduction level programming and/or scripting books that you recommend? I will gather your suggestions into a list and check out the IT-related sections of the nearest Barnes & Noble stores. Or if you could... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: antalexi
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Live Unix Distro Help...