Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX unzipping _client.cpio.gz issue Post 302485771 by pilotHans on Thursday 6th of January 2011 06:57:06 AM
Old 01-06-2011
unzipping _client.cpio.gz issue

Hi,

FYI I've this AIX6.1 machine that I'm telnet to using Putty. I have this oracle client file which is 1G+ that took me several hours to transfer.

I was trying to unzip 10gr2_aix5l64_client.cpio.gz.
Code:
# gunzip 10gr2_aix5l64_client.cpio.gz /usr/app/oracle
gunzip: /usr/app/oracle is a directory -- ignored

now I see, instead of cpio.gz its .cpio. I don't want the installer to be messed up.
Code:
# cd /usr
# ls
10gr2_aix5l64_client.cpio

please help/advice.

Code:
# whoami
root

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
previously I've also ..not sure if it's related
Code:
# mkdir -p /usr/app/oracle
# chown -R oracle:oinstall /usr/app/oracle
# chmod -R 775 /usr/app/oracle

Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unzipping

Ok, im a lame newb, i know, but what are all the options for the tar command, and how do i use it properly...? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: FalconX2
3 Replies

2. AIX

URGENT --problem in unzipping

when try to unzip a very big file facing an error of disk full. can any body help me to unzip this file . $ unzip abc.zip Archive: abc.zip inflating: abc.zrp abc.zip write error (disk full?). Continue? (y/n/^C) $ n Thanks & Regards (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: suman_jakkula
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

unzipping problem

Hi, I have downloaded the oracle 9i software from oracle website. The file is in the following format. "lnx_920_disk1.cpio.gz" I need to unzip this file for installing oracle9i in my system. I tried with the following command to unzip the file "$gunzip lnx_920_disk1.cpio.gz" but i am... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ravi raj kumar
2 Replies

4. HP-UX

Error while UNZIPPING