Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Perl Cutting character(s) from a word Post 302485466 by bartus11 on Wednesday 5th of January 2011 09:33:37 AM
Old 01-05-2011
Code:
$word=~s/\D//g;

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need Help in Cutting a word

Hi All , i am working on a backup script , which would a call a executable file in unix server , Login credentials :: use telnet session to login to Unix server when logged in, this would be my Prompt ::: unix11@raghav: I just need to cut the word unix11 , so that i can use this... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: raghav1982
12 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Cutting a string based on the third occcurence of a character

Hello, I am new to unix hence struggling with my requirement. I have a string like : ECR/CHQ/GBP/12345.out I need to get only the ECR/CHQ/GBP portion of the string(cut the string based on the third occurrence of / )...How do it do it? Many thanks (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: valluvan
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to cut first line only from a text near a specific column without cutting a word

First I have to say thank you to this community and this forum. You helped me very much builing several useful scripts. Now, I can't get a solution the following problem, I'm stuck somehow. Maybe someone has an idea. In short, I dump a site via lynx and pipe the output in a file. I need to... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: lowmaster
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Command to parse a word character by character

Hi All, Can anyone help me please, I have a word like below. 6,76 I want to read this word and check if it has "," (comma) and if yes then i want to replace it with "." (dot). That means i want to be changed to 6.76 If the word doesnot contain "," then its should not be changed. Eg. ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: girish.raos
6 Replies