Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Eliminate double void line
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Eliminate double void line Post 302481639 by mjomba on Saturday 18th of December 2010 05:48:06 PM
Old 12-18-2010
Eliminate double void line

Hi,

I need to eliminate each second void line in a text file.
Code:
novus
MILLENNIO
ineo

frater
in
episcopatus

presbyter
et
diacon|diaconus

religiosus
vir|virum|virus|vis
et
mulier

So to have ONLY ONE void line separating "sentences":
Code:
novus
MILLENNIO
ineo

frater
in
episcopatus

presbyter
et
diacon|diaconus

religiosus
vir|virum|virus|vis
et
mulier

Is it possible to have a script using "perl" or "sed"?
Thank you for any help!
mjomba

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sorting the Void File in CSH

First and foremost, this is not a homework for your information. I'm just new to using c-shell programming and I just wanted to make my life easier @ work. Say, the file contains the following: ID FILE NO. SL VP 1 1 22 33 1 2 ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ilak1008
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to Eliminate first line of multiple files

hi gurus ,, I have multiple files with same file pattern..in a particular directory for ex: file20061101.trf file20061102.trf file20061103.trf Each of the file has a header as column names.. My questions is how can i eliminate the first row of each of these... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: sish78
11 Replies

3. Programming

How to return void function pointer

Hello all im trying to build function that will return void function pointer what is mean is ( not working ) the main function void * myClass::getFunction(int type){ if(type==1) return &myClass::Test1; if(type==2) return &myClass::Test2; } void myClass::Test1(){... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: umen
1 Replies

4. Programming

What is the difference between f(...), f(void) and f()