Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to print range of a line? Post 302479870 by cabrao on Monday 13th of December 2010 06:26:00 AM
Old 12-13-2010
Code:
awk -F"character|numeric" '{print $1}' file

This User Gave Thanks to cabrao For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

print range between two patterns if it contains a pattern within the range

I want to print between the range two patterns if a particular pattern is present in between the two patterns. I am new to Unix. Any help would be greatly appreciated. e.g. Pattern1 Bombay Calcutta Delhi Pattern2 Pattern1 Patna Madras Gwalior Delhi Pattern2 Pattern1... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: joyan321
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Print Range Only Once Per File

Scenario: Each of several .txt files contain the following (but perhaps with some minor variations due to code version running on the devices from which the text was extracted): <output omitted> SWITCH1#show proc cpu hist 1... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: svermill
4 Replies

3. Solaris

sed print range alongwith line numbers.

hi working with sed in a shell script using sed to print a range of lines from a given file for example to print lines 12-24 from a file sed 12,24p <filename> however i need to print the line numbers, alongwith the actual lines would this be possible at all? Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: xinuuser
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk to print range of fields

Hi file.in and file.out are in csv format. the code I have now is, cat file.in | awk -F"," '!($1$2$3$4$5$6$7$8 in a){a;print $0}' > file.out Here, I am printing entire line using $0. however, I want to print $1 to $150 and it should be in csv format. Cut -d is not good in performace.... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: krishnix
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

print range of lines matching pattern and previous line