Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Update a field in a file based on condition Post 302478049 by kichu on Tuesday 7th of December 2010 04:14:20 AM
Old 12-07-2010
Update a field in a file based on condition

Hi

i am new to scripting. i have a file file.dat with content as :

Code:

CONTENT_STORAGE PERCENTAGE FLAG:
/storage_01 64% 0
/storage_02 17% 1

I need to update the value of FLAG for a particular CONTENT_STORAGE value

I have written the following code
Code:

#!/bin/sh
threshold=20
alert="threshold"
#Get default file store 
defaultStorage1=DEFAULT_STORE 
#DEFAULT_STORE is obtained as storage_01 from database table

echo "file reading"
{

while read CONTENT_STORAGE PERCENTAGE FLAG
do

#Code for reading through lines and ignoring all until CONTENT_STORAGE is found

# Ignore all lines until content storage namematches the name given 
    if [[ ${CONTENT_STORAGE} != $defaultStorage1 ]]; then
 echo "here"
        continue
    fi   
echo "CONTENT_STORAGE = ${CONTENT_STORAGE} / PERCENTAGE = ${PERCENTAGE} / FLAG = ${FLAG}" 
done < file.dat 
}
echo "Getting the percentage og $defaultStorage1 *********************"
#check the percentage stored in defaultStorage
df -H | grep $defaultStorage1 | awk '{ print $4 " " $5}' | while read output;
do 
  #Get the used percentage
  usep=$(echo $output | awk '{ print $1}' | cut -d'%' -f1)
 echo "used percentage .................. $usep"
# Check if the used percentage is > threshold_value. Do nothing till its > threshold
   if [ $(($usep)) -le $(($threshold)) ]; then
 echo "Used percentage of $defaultStorage1 ................. $(($usep))"
       continue

else 

echo "Used percentage is greater than threshold"

# Ignore all lines until content storage namematches the name given 
    if [[ ${CONTENT_STORAGE} != $defaultStorage1 ]]; then
        continue
    else
       $FLAG = 1