Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Store Host lookup in variable ("on the fly") Post 302477243 by sOliver on Friday 3rd of December 2010 06:28:44 PM
Old 12-03-2010
Store Host lookup in variable ("on the fly")

Hi,

I'm new here. I was wondering why I can't store a host lookup in a variable.

Code:
for line in $(< blacklist)
do
STOREIP=host $line;
if [[ $storeip != *bot* ]]; then
$line >> blacklist2;
else
$line >> blacklist3;
fi
done

Result: "ip" command not found .. so how would I store the host lookup in the variable?

Basically I have IP's stored in a file and want to check them via rdns if they include the string "bot". If they dont I want to save them in blacklist2, if they do in blacklist3.

If anyone could help me out with this I'd be grateful... I'm pretty new to this and so far I really like how easy it is to write some useful scripts, but this is a bit too difficult for me.

Thanks a lot!
Oliver

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Explain the line "mn_code=`env|grep "..mn"|awk -F"=" '{print $2}'`"

Hi Friends, Can any of you explain me about the below line of code? mn_code=`env|grep "..mn"|awk -F"=" '{print $2}'` Im not able to understand, what exactly it is doing :confused: Any help would be useful for me. Lokesha (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lokesha
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to store the output of "time dd if= of=" in a variable

Hi All, I need to store the real seconds of the following command in a variable. How could it be done? time $(dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/sda1 bs=512 count=2048;sync) Thanks, Amio (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: amio
12 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

store the output of "find" command in a variable?