Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Recursively UNTARing and then TARing back Post 302476240 by exchequer598 on Wednesday 1st of December 2010 07:24:40 AM
Old 12-01-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by methyl
Presumably you type more than just two "tar" lines.
Well, a couple of tar lines, for each nested TAR file. Once everything is extracted, we run our script. Once it replaces everything, we put back everything into TARs.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

untaring multiple files

Hi, i'm pretty new to unix and shell scripting and i need to untar a load of files all with different names e.g. YAAN00.V404.T13467.tar, YAAN00.V404.T15623.tar etc with the .T* part following no particular series. I tried to untar them in a script using simply tar -xvf YAAN00.V404.T*.tar ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rinceboy
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to move files while Taring..

Hi, When I run the following command the files get TAR but the files in the folder remain intact. tar -cvf TARZIP.10 Nov09/ Is there any way to move them into the folder than just copying them. Thanks and regards, Gideon. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: preethgideon
2 Replies

3. AIX

back to back printing in UNIX

Hi , Can you suggest me how to back to back printing in UNIX? Is there any way? Kindly advise. Regards Vijaya Amirtha Raj (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: amirthraj_12
3 Replies

4. IP Networking

Back-to-Back Connection using HBAs

Hi every body, Is it possible to connect two servers Back-to-Back (Point-to-Point) using HBA adapters & using Fiber. Note it is direct connection & there is no switches between the servers. I'm concern about using HBA adapters, it is possible or not. Thanks in advance. :) (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: aldowsary
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

TARing multiple files at once