Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Recursively UNTARing and then TARing back Post 302476238 by methyl on Wednesday 1st of December 2010 07:20:38 AM
Old 12-01-2010
Quote:
I've just finished writing a shell script that searches for a string recursively in all text files and replace them with another string. Now, all these files come from a location nested deep within some TAR files which are inside another mother TAR.

To make my script work, we had been UNTARing all these TAR files, running the search/replace, then TARing them back. How do I automate this step too by a shell script?
Presumably you type more than just two "tar" lines.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

untaring multiple files

Hi, i'm pretty new to unix and shell scripting and i need to untar a load of files all with different names e.g. YAAN00.V404.T13467.tar, YAAN00.V404.T15623.tar etc with the .T* part following no particular series. I tried to untar them in a script using simply tar -xvf YAAN00.V404.T*.tar ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: rinceboy
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to move files while Taring..

Hi, When I run the following command the files get TAR but the files in the folder remain intact. tar -cvf TARZIP.10 Nov09/ Is there any way to move them into the folder than just copying them. Thanks and regards, Gideon. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: preethgideon
2 Replies

3. AIX

back to back printing in UNIX

Hi , Can you suggest me how to back to back printing in UNIX? Is there any way? Kindly advise. Regards Vijaya Amirtha Raj (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: amirthraj_12
3 Replies

4. IP Networking

Back-to-Back Connection using HBAs