Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: bash integer & string issue
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting bash integer & string issue Post 302474669 by michaelrozar17 on Thursday 25th of November 2010 02:09:28 AM
Old 11-25-2010
give a try as..
Code:
echo "${5_MYVALUE}"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Integer to String

Which function should I use to convert an Integer to a String or Char format ? Thanx (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: psilva
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Checking if string contains integer

G'day guys, first post so be gentle. I need help with some code to work out if a variable (string) contains any integers. The valid variable (string) must contain only letters. Also need to be able to work out if a variable contains only integers. Any help greatly appreciated. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: haz
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Non-integer calculations in bash

I'm new at scripting but I thought I was getting pretty good at it. I've hit a snag. I try to use expr to compute a fraction say: expr 3 / 4, and I'm getting zero. I guess it's just truncating to the integer, in this case 0, but I need the decimal 0.75. What can I do to compute this value in... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jeriryan87
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to compare string & integer in unix

Hi All, i am doung sup up of amount column in my file. tot_val=`awk '{a+=$0}END{printf "%.5f\n",a}' amount` then i have a checksum in footer. chk_sum=`tail -1 $FILE_NAME | cut -d~ -f7 | cut -c2-` but the problem is while executing 1st command i am getting : 27720.75000 & while... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Amit.Sagpariya
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash version or string issue