Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Pine, Alpine and ELinks
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Pine, Alpine and ELinks Post 302473464 by saithesci on Saturday 20th of November 2010 11:39:49 AM
Old 11-20-2010
Data Pine, Alpine and ELinks

Hello. I'm running Mac OS X 10.5. I am completely new to UNIX and also to command line. I'm trying to setup an email client and a web browser.

Google told me Pine was a good idea for email, so I got Pine. I thought it would be like other email clients, like Thunderbird, so that I can use IMAP with my Gmail account. But it doesn't look like that. When I send messages, they are from <myname>@r074177.fna.swh.mhn.de.

1) How did I get that email address? Is it mine forever? Will it change if I move to another country?

2) I want to set up IMAP/POP my Gmail account on Pine. Is that possible?

3) I also downloaded Alpine. But I only got a file called 'alpine-bin.osx-10.5' with no extension. What should I do with that file?

4) I have also downloaded ELinks <http://elinks.or.cz/download.html> and I got a folder with lots of files and I don't know how to install..

Help me! Or are there tutorials on things like these?

5 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Alpine configuration questions...

I have just started using Alpine, and have a couple of config questions for my ISP POP3 account. Under "User Domain" I have put my "ISP.ca". However when I send out email, instead of showing my email address, it shows my "OSXUserAccount_nameISP.ca". No where in my settings do I see my User Account... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: larrinski
1 Replies

2. OS X (Apple)

Alpine 2 on Snow Leopard

I've just installed Alpine on Snow Leopard but can't seem to get a default spell checker configured for it. What happened to spell? I can't find it at all on 10.6, must have been some changes. Does anyone know about the default unix spell checker on SL? Thanks! (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: platz