Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Identify log files based on time stamp,zip and then copy..HELP Post 302472606 by skdas_niladri on Wednesday 17th of November 2010 02:50:01 PM
Old 11-17-2010
Identify log files based on time stamp,zip and then copy..HELP

Hi All,
PFB is a requirement. I am new to shell scripting. So plz help. It would be highly appreciated.

1. choose all the log files based on a particular date (files location is '/test/domain')--i.e,we should choose all the files that are modified on 29th November, neither 28th nor 30th
2. zip the files (concatenating the files into a single one is OK)
3. name the zip file as the current date (when the shell script is run)
4. copy the zip file to backup_log folder (location would be '/test/domain/backup_log')
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
example of a log file name is application.log.1, application.log.2 and so on

---------- Post updated at 02:50 PM ---------- Previous update was at 02:48 PM ----------

by the way it is ksh UNIX environ.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to Zip the files from date Stamp to end date Stamp

Hi, I need to zip the list of files using from date Stamp to end date Stamp, How can I filter and make FromDate_EndDate.gzip? any idea? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: redlotus72
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Need to delete the files based on the time stamp of the file

Hi Everyone, I want to delete some files in a path based on the time stamp of the file that is i want to delete the file once in a month. Can any one help me on this? Thanks in advance (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: samudha
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Copy all the files with time stamp and remove header,trailer from file