Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting An issue with condition statement in shell script Post 302472075 by palsevlohit_123 on Tuesday 16th of November 2010 07:55:44 AM
Old 11-16-2010
The first issue was we should not include the $ during read input
Second in the test you can't test a string.

Can you try the below... It should work for you

Code:
#! /bin/ksh
echo " enter value of mon"
read mon
if [ -f load.sh ]
then
        if [ "$mon" != "" ]
        then
                load.sh "$mon"
        else
                echo "Failed"
        fi
else
        echo "Failed"
fi

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

need help with test condition in shell script

I'm new to scripting and I need help with a bourn shell script. What i'm trying to do is a test condition where "if the time is within 2 hours, it's true" and so on. The time is in the following format DATE=`/bin/date +"%Y%m%d%H%S"` for example, 20060907152000. So, what the script first... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: pieman8080
9 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with shell script to check the condition.

:) Hi, I want to script for this scenerio, OSR Settings Scenario : We are looking to find all the *.a files from the following locations in the filesystem of a server. OSR Directories /etc /bin /usr/bin /usr/sbin /var/adm These *.a files should have the permissions on... (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: sakthilinux
12 Replies

3. AIX

if condition in AIX5.3-10 shell script

True if file exists and has been modified since it was last read. if then command else exit fi i am on AIX5.3-10. it does not understand -N any other way. i can use -ot (file1 is older than file2), but prefer -N if possible. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: tjmannonline
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

IF condition against a ARRAY in shell script