Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Splitting text file into 2 separate files ?? Post 302471140 by danmero on Friday 12th of November 2010 05:08:36 AM
Old 11-12-2010
Use gawk, nawk, mawk OR /usr/xpg4/bin/awk on Solaris.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

splitting files based on text in the file

I need to split a file based on certain context inside the file. Is there a unix command that can do this? I have looked into split and csplit but it does not seem like those would work because I need to split this file based on certain text. The file has multiple records and I need to split this... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: matrix1067
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Splitting text file to several other files using sed.

I'm trying to figure out how to do this efficiently with as little execution time as possible and I'm pretty sure using sed is the best way. However I'm new to sed and all the reading and examples I've found don't seem to show a similar exercise: I have a long text file (i'll call it... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: JeffV
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Separate text files in a folder by word count

Hi, been searching Google for like an hour and I doubt I got the right keywords so might as well ask here. What I need: Before: Article1.txt 564 Article2.txt 799 Article3.txt 349 Article4.txt 452 * Separate files over 400 wordcount * After: Article1.txt 564... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Richard2000
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Extract text and store in separate files

Hi, I have a file which looks like this: .I 1 some text .A this is the first line .I 2 some text again .B this is the second line .I 3 again some text .C this is the third line I want to have my output like this in separate files: (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: shoaibjameel123
7 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting