Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: sed newline
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sed newline Post 302469615 by DGPickett on Sunday 7th of November 2010 09:46:15 AM
Old 11-07-2010
You might h, remove the newline, validate, g? Validate a copy without the newline? Not sure the problem. To get \n into the buffer in the first place, you need a loop if not </h2> then N.

Code:
sed '
  /h2[ >]/!/d
  :loop
  /<\/h2/!{
    N
    b loop
   }
  s/.*<h2\>[^>]*>\(.*\)<\/h2>.*/\1/
 ' check\?uri\=$1

Is new line still a problem? Add s/\n/ /g in a line above.

Last edited by DGPickett; 11-07-2010 at 10:57 AM..
This User Gave Thanks to DGPickett For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed append newline character

Hi All, I am new to Shell scripting.. I have a task to parse the text file into csv format. more then half the things has done. But the problem is when I use the sed command in shell script. it appends newline character at the end of the line. and so when I open the file in CSV it's format... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Gaurang033
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

SED: how to remove newline after pattern?

Hi, I have the following XML not well-indented code: <hallo >this is a line </hallo> So I need to remove the newline. This syntax finds what I need to correct, but I don't know how to remove the newline after my pattern: sed 's/<.*$/&/' How can I subtract the newline after my... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: nico.ben
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

SED to convert ~ in a file to newline

Hi, I have a .txt file which has a tilde(~) in it. All that I want is to break into a newline whenever there is an occurence of '~'. I have tried SED to do that but I could not succeed. I would appreciate if I can get a shell script(ksh) for this problem real quick. Thanks in advance. ... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: ntekupal
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting